Cape Coral Community Foundation names ENPYs finalists

The Cape Coral Community Foundation announced the 27 finalists for the inaugural Excellence in Nonprofit Performance Yearly Awards (ENPYs) at a reception on Oct. 3. These exceptional organizations, leaders, volunteers, staff and partners will be recognized at an awards luncheon on Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2017 at Crowne Plaza Bell Tower in Fort Myers, with a winner named in seven categories. A panel of impartial, non-local judges selected the following finalists from an online nomination process:

Nonprofit Organization of the Year (established more than three years ago)
· Golisano Children’s Museum of Naples
· Community Cooperative
· Lighthouse of Southwest Florida

Nonprofit Rising Organization of the Year (established less than three years ago)
· Valerie’s House
· Cape Coral Animal Shelter
· Eva’s Closet

Nonprofit Executive of the Year (CEO, president, executive director)
· Nida Eluna, Dr. Ella Piper Center for Social Services
· Samira Beckwith, Hope Healthcare
· Nancy Green-Irwin, Friendship Centers

Nonprofit Board Leader of the Year (board member)
· Douglas Carlson, M.D., ECHO
· Dean Piccirillo, Greater Fort Myers Chamber of Commerce
· Janet Ortenzo, Southwest Florida Human Trafficking Coalition, Inc.

Nonprofit Employee of the year (paid staff member)
· Aimee McLaughlin, Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Sun Coast
· Megan Feeney, Goodwill Industries of SWFL
· Allyson Ross, Pace Center for Girls, Lee

Nonprofit Volunteer of the Year (individual who serves the organization and/or community)
· Chuck Thornton, Lee BIA Builders Care
· Tracie Bagans, Heights Foundation
· Ingrid Fuller, Multicultural Centre of Southwest Florida

Business Partner of the Year (business who supports nonprofits and the community)
· Smart Companies
· Advanced Pain Management & Spine Specialists
· Cape Coral Plumbing, Inc.

In addition, the Michel Doherty Community Impact Award and the Paul Sanborn Service Above Self Award will be presented to two inspirational individuals:

Michel Doherty Community Impact Award
· Duane Chaney
· Jeanne Sweeney
· Frank Haskell

Paul Sanborn Service Above Self Award
· Steve Pansing
· James Gravedoni
· Pete and Cyndi Doragh

The inaugural ENPYs award luncheon is expected to host a sell-out crowd of 200 community leaders from across Southwest Florida. Sponsors include Storm Smart, Cape Coral Community Foundation, LCEC, CONRIC PR & Marketing, Suncoast Beverage, News-Press Media Group, Wicked Dolphin, Premier Cape Construction, Lee Health, HBKS Wealth Advisors & HBK CPAs and Consultants, Regions Bank, Bank of the Ozarks, Rotary Club of Cape Coral, Michel Doherty & friends, and Stroemer and Company.

For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *